Settings Agent Interface

Settings are basically ‘switches’. Many are actual binary switches (on, off) and can be enabled/disabled by checking a box. Some are fields that either contain, or have the ability to contain, IP addresses, text (e.g., en for English or de for German), numbers or lists.

There are a number of places where those settings can be accessed and edited:

Settings > Global > Settings Allows editing at the Global level.

Settings > Account > Settings Allows editing at the Account level.

Settings > API Keys (select key) > Settings Allows editing at the API Key level.

Settings > Named areas (select Named area) > Settings Allows editing at the Named areas level.

Settings > Teams (select Team) > Settings Allows editing at the Team level.

Settings > Users (select User) > Settings Allows editing at the User level.

Note: It is important to understand that while settings cascade down through the levels of hierarchy; not all settings propagate downwards. For example, some settings associated with an API Key or a Named area are not relevant to a Team or a User. Single-sign on, for example, would only be available from the Account (or above) level. Other values, such as languages, will cascade all the way down to individual users.

  • Settings are hierarchical. If you are not a Super Admin you will only see a subset of the available settings that are relevant to your role.
  • Registered users only see, and only have edit privileges on a very small number of self-explanatory configuration items. This number increases as one moves up the hierarchy.
  • Basic mode: Note first that there is nothing in the interface that says ‘basic’. This is because ‘basic’ is the default. What you do see is an Advanced button. In Basic mode (that is; you have not clicked the Advanced button and are therefore in ‘basic’ mode) simply hover over an item to see a description of that configuration value’s function.

Note: When you make a change to a setting, this ('X') icon displays beside the setting. This icon means that a setting has been altered from the default value. If you want to return a setting to its default, click the icon. (The 'Default' value is whatever value has been inherited as a default for that level.)

Here is a picture of a typical registered user’s settings.

Hover the cursor over an item to see a description.

The 'basic mode' is intentionally sparse, displaying minimal information. If you want more information you must go into the Advanced mode.

Settings in Advanced Mode

For a Registered user or Supervisor there is probably no need to use the Advanced button at all. But when we move up the hierarchy through Admin to Super Admin the need for an Advanced mode becomes clearer. (Advanced mode offers a little more information and functionality.)

Here is the same picture when viewed in Advanced mode. Select Settings > (some level) > Settings then click the Advanced button.

Note that the Advanced mode provides more information.

Below are some more examples that are a little easier to understand. The picture below lists all the languages that have been selected in the boxes and tells us that these settings are inherited from the Global settings.

The picture below tells us that at the Default level (which is set, according to this picture, at a higher, undefined, level), all available languages are switched on for the language filter in the Agent Queue.

Account: In this case the Account entry has the most information as it tells us that the settings in Account are inherited by this level from the Account level.

Global: (Not shown here as we are now signed-in at the Admin level.) Settings at this level (given that you have an On-premises setup) are your highest level settings. For all accounts that live on the server this is where you set your highest-level defaults. (There is no 'Global' level when using the unblu cloud.)

Product: (Not shown here as only Superadmins can see it.) Settings at this level are the 'factory-shipped' settings. This should be considered as a 'fallback default' set by our R & D team.

Default: The Default is an undefined level (above the level you are looking at) from which the cascade 'starts'.

In the previous picture this level had inherited (grey boxes) two languages (de, en). In the picture above we have decided to add Spanish (es) to the default languages available in the Queue filter.

In the picture above three check boxes are green. This means that these settings have been switched on at this level (the level we are looking at). If the check boxes were grey this would mean that it has inherited its value from the level above. When you make a change the check box turns green and the icon displays.

Note: There will be cases (e.g., this one) where selecting (or deselecting) an item changes the color (to green) of other items. For example, if six languages have been selected at a higher level you would see six grey ticked boxes (as grey ticked boxes represent selections at a higher level which your level has inherited) and if you now deselect one of them, then the other five grey, ticked, boxes will become green ticked boxes. This is because the software treats some items as lists of related items and any change to any one of them is interpreted as a change to that 'list'. In this case we inherited German (de) and English (en) and those language selection boxes were grey (as they were inherited). Now that we have added Spanish (es), all selected languages change to green.

Note: You can figure out which values are 'related' in this way by looking at the (revert to default) icon. For example, in this 'languages' case there is a single icon. That means any changes to any of the items related to this item will cause all items to display 'as if' they had all been altered at this level.

Note: To get back into ‘basic’ mode click the Advanced button again.

  • deploycloud
  • deployonprem

results matching ""

    No results matching ""